City Council


Due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), for some meetings the Woburn City Council and its Committees are utilizing the Governor’s Emergency Executive Order which suspends certain provisions of the Open Meeting Law. For information and instructions on participating in or viewing meetings and whether the meeting will be in person or virtual, follow the guidance in the posting of each meeting.

The Woburn City Council is the legislative body of the City of Woburn.

There are nine members of the City Council. The city is divided into seven wards. Each ward is represented by a Ward Alderman elected by the residents of the ward. There are two Aldermen At Large elected by the residents of the entire city. Each Alderman and Alderman At Large has one vote on all matters before the City Council.

The Aldermen are elected on the first Tuesday in November in odd-numbered years. All Alderman seats are open for election every two years.They take office on the first Monday in January of the following year. The President of the City Council is elected by and from the members at the organizational meeting in January and serves for two years in that position.

The City Council also has nine committees made up of Aldermen. The committees consist of all nine Aldermen with five or three voting members on each committee, except for the Committee on Liaison on which is all nine Aldermen are voting members. The President appoints the chair and members of each committee shortly after the organizational meeting. The President is chair of the Committee on Liaison. For more information on committees go to Committees For a list of the committees and the members go to City Council Standing Committees

The City Council meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Council Chamber in Woburn City Hall at 10 Common Street, except for July and August when there is generally one meeting per month. Committees meet as needed and generally meet on Monday nights.


Pursuant to Section 11 of Chapter 115 of the Acts of 2020, the City Clerk has prepared the following report relative to moving the polling place for Ward 3 from the Farmstand Building to the Hurld Wyman Elementary School: Report on Ward 3 Polling Place Change 7-31-2020

Robert J. Ferullo, Jr.

Alderman at Large

Michael P. Concannon

Alderman at Large

Joanne E. Campbell

Ward One Alderman

Richard F. Gately, Jr.

Ward Two Alderman

Jeffrey P. Dillon

Ward Three Alderman

Joseph E. Demers

Ward Four Alderman

Darlene Mercer-Bruen

Ward Five Alderman

Edward Tedesco

Ward Six Alderman

Lindsay E. Higgins

Ward Seven Alderman, President

Latest News View All

Posted on
AUG 17TH 2020

Ballot Drop Box

It is recommended that Vote-by-Mail ballots be returned in person to the City Clerks’s office during business hours on M...
State Primary Election - Tuesday, September 1, 2020 ...
Pursuant to provisions of the Woburn City Charter, the Woburn City Council shall fill the vacant position of Ward 4 Alde...